F1 for schools 2014

01 April 2014

photo 5A team of students from Cookstown High School are celebrating after winning four awards at the 2014 F1 in Schools™ Formula One Technology Challenge.  Two teams from the school have picked up awards including the ‘Overall fastest car’ award and an ‘innovative thinking’ award.  The team of boys from Year 10, 11 and 12 also won an award for ‘best team identity’.  On the day the pupils amazed judges with their race time of 0.999 seconds, which incredibly beat the world record!

Their success earned them a place in the UK National Finals of this prestigious competition, which was held at the Big Bang Science and Engineering Fair in Birmingham.  This was a fantastic opportunity for the boys who greatly enjoyed representing the school on a national level. 

The F1 in Schools™ Formula One Technology Event challenged students to design, construct and race a Formula 1™ car of the future, made from a block of balsa wood, and powered by a compressed air canister. The car is raced over a 20 metre track and the fastest time is recorded.

Aside from the on-track action, teams also produced supporting evidence of their design, with a written portfolio and a verbal presentation of their work, developed a sponsorship and marketing campaign and created team merchandise, with all these elements presented with their race car at the regional finals.

The pupils involved were Robert Walker, Nathan McCord, Gareth Watt, Raymond Donaghy, Kyle Junk, Walter Acheson, Jack Fraser, Reece Patrick, Daniel Stewart and Adam Keane.

The team would like to thank the sponsors who kindly donated to make competing at the event possible.  The main sponsors were RT Autoparts, The Tyre Safety Centre, TJ Hamilton’s VW, Clive Hamilton Motors, The Tyre Depot and Drew Stewart Auto Repairs.


News Articles - Technology

Cookstown High School,  Coolnafranky Demesne, Cookstown, Co. Tyrone, BT80 8PQ  
Tel: 028 867 63632   Fax 028 867 61210    email:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 international school award   fairtradeccsc web logo